Chairperson: Peter Siegel

All peoples and all aspects of human life are the subject of anthropology. The discipline stresses the study of non-western cultures, provides insights from these studies towards understanding the world we live in; and encourages responsibility by applying the results to problems in our rapidly changing world. The five basic fields are represented in the department: cultural anthropology, archaeology, physical anthropology, anthropological linguistics and applied anthropology. A Bachelor of Arts in anthropology major and an anthropology minor are offered.